Review: Bossypants – February 2013

bossypantsFirst audio book of 2013 completed! Achievement unlocked.

This is a book that I was sorry to see go. I listened to it on my drive into work and on my way home every day for a week. I listened to it while I tried my very best to find motivation for a bike workout. And I listened to it with my boyfriend, the two of us lounging around, engaged in nothing but shared laughter. Tina Fey is a goddess.

Bossypants is a memoir. And a self-help book. And an extended recording of stand up. And a verbal history of SNL (circa 1997-2008). It is funny, irreverent  and heart-warming. Kind of. It’s kind of heart-warming. Mostly it’s just funny. As in laugh out loud hysterical funny. From the awkward teenage nostalgia, to tips on improv, to struggles with breast-feeding, this book has it all, and “it all” is comedy gold.

The book maneuvers through personal history, with anecdotes and familiar names (Alec Baldwin), and I knew to expect that. (“It’s kind of like a book version of SNL — lots of funny shorts. It’s what I think of when I think of Tina Fey.” Krista, Pajiba, Cannonball Read III.) But my favorite interludes, which were equal parts surprising and obvious, were her takes on women in comedy. Her struggles and frustrations were are certainly not exclusive to her industry, but her sense of humor and her intelligent writing eloquently pointed out a prevailing mentality that we baby-makers are faced with every day – “No one wants to watch a sketch with two women.” I won’t water down her brilliance with a recap of my own, but I really do hope that the men reading (or listening to) Bossypants learned something about the female voice, and how we are constantly muffled by ignorance and misogyny.

This is a must read. It’s easy, hilarious, intelligent, and all around pretty fantastic. 5 Stars

This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Review: Bossypants – February 2013

  1. Pingback: Review: Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns) – April 2013 | Jen Can Read

Leave a Reply

